Functional Gastrointestinal and Motility Disorders Research Enhancement Act of 2019 (H.R. 3396) Re-Introduced in U.S. House of Representatives, June 2019

New co-sponsors: September 2020

This is a similar bill to the ones known in the 112th Congress (2011-2012) as HR 2239, in the 113th Congress (2013-2014) as HR 842, in the 114thCongress (2015-2016) as HR 2311, and in the 115th Congress (2016-2017) as HR 1187. Although the Act has not been passed yet, historically, it has brought increased awareness and funding to functional gastrointestinal and motility disorders like IBS.  IBS Impact thanks IFFGD for its consistent work over many years in bringing this bipartisan bill to fruition and urges U.S. citizen IBS Impact members and site visitors to advocate for this landmark legislation on behalf of people with IBS and related disorders.

IFFGD announced publicly in late June 2019 that HR 3396 was introduced into the 116th Congress (2019-2020) in June 2019 by Rep. F. James Sensenbrenner (R-WI-5), who also was the initial sponsor of all previous versions. Rep. Gwen Moore (D-WI-4)  joined him as the first co-sponsor. She has also been among early co-sponsors of all previous versions. This time, they were soon joined, also in June 2019, by Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-8), who is co-sponsoring the Act for the second time, and Rep. David Price (D-NC-4), who is co-sponsoring for the fourth time. In July 2019, they were joined by Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI-2), who is co-sponsoring for the third time, and Rep. Ed Perlmutter, (D-CO-7) who is co-sponsoring for the fourth time. In September 2019, Rep. Katie Porter (D-CA-45), Rep. Thomas Massie (R-KY-4), Rep. Max Rose (D-NY-11) and Rep. Paul Gosar (R-AZ-4) all signed on for the first time. Rep. Dave Loebsack (D-IA-2) subsequently signed on for the third time. In October 2019, they were joined for the first time by Rep. Filemon Vela (D-TX-34) and Rep. Susie Lee (D-NV-3) and in November 2019 by Rep. Lisa Blount Rochester (D-DE-at large) for the first time. In January 2020, Rep. Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ-1) signed on for the first time and Rep. Bobby Rush (D-IL-1) for the second time. In February 2020, Rep. Jeff Van Drew (R-NJ-2) became a co-sponsor for the first time. In March 2020, Rep. Julia Brownley (D-CA-26), Rep. Thomas Suozzi (D-NY-3) and Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC-at large) became co-sponsors for the second time. In September 2020, Rep. G.K. Butterfield (D-NC-1) and Rep. James McGovern (D-MA-2) signed on for the first time.

If you are a constituent of any of these representatives,  please write or call or post on their social media to thank them for their support of the functional gastrointestinal and motility disorders community.

A link to the bill can be found here.

IFFGD’s information regarding the bill is here:

Please check back on this site, our blog at or @ibsimpact on Twitter or IBS Impact on Facebook for updated news as it becomes available.


Updated: September 2020